Skip to content

can’t we all just get along?

March 30, 2010

the answer to that very involved question is no. there will always be sexism and racism and bigotry. the thought process then turns to how you live your life, and the actions and words you put forth.

there are those who think less of me because i’ve got a vagina between my legs instead of a cock.
my response: this is how i was born. i wasn’t able to choose my sex at birth, and even if i was presented with that opportunity i’d still choose to be a woman! yes, it is a patriarchal society, but if you stop and think you’ll understand and acknowledge women hold the power. i can do two things the male of the species will never be able to accomplish: give life to another human being and nutritionally sustain another human being. admittedly i go through a living hell each month for nine days (i’m not kidding–i’m on the rag for nine days each month) in order to be able to accomplish both of these amazing feats and that’s fine. if you don’t want to get to know me merely because i’m a woman, i truly feel sorry for you.

there are those who think less of me because i’m jewish.
my response: again, something i am unable to change. while i’m a non-observant jew, i do honor and respect the rich heritage of my people. if you don’t want to get to know me merely because i’m a jew, i truly feel sorry for you.

there are those who think less of me because i vote republican or conservative.
my response. i don’t believe i was born to vote for the republican or conservative ticket simply because i come from a long line of hard-core democrats. is one’s choice of politics ingrained in the womb? in my case i’ll have to say no! i’ve got friends who comprise every make and model of the political spectrum, and i will always listen to, and debate, opposing opinions. i’d like to think if i bought you a patron and sat at the end of the bar with you, you’d be willing to listen, and debate, my opinions. if you don’t want to get to know me merely because i’m a registered conservative, i truly feel sorry for you.

can’t we all just get along? for the most part, yes. we are humans, we are intellectuals, we are free thinkers, and we have free will. however, there are some opinions which will never be changed. i’m not fully accepting of that, but in the light of day there’s only so much i can do regarding how you view me. i might be the one person walking the planet who has what you need, but does your poor opinion of me because i’m a female jewish conservative make you not want to talk to me to get what you need? if so, i truly feel sorry for you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

